ARC Review: EMMY & OLIVER by Robin Benway

Robin Benway’s EMMY & OLIVER is a heartwarming coming-of-age love story filled with the perfect amount of suspense.

Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway

Book Summary from Amazon:

Emmy and Oliver were going to be best friends forever, or maybe even more, before their futures were ripped apart. In Emmy’s soul, despite the space and time between them, their connection has never been severed. But is their story still written in the stars? Or are their hearts like the pieces of two different puzzles—impossible to fit together?

Emmy just wants to be in charge of her own life. . . . She wants to stay out late, surf her favorite beach—go anywhere without her parents’ relentless worrying. But Emmy’s parents can’t seem to let her grow up—not since the day Oliver disappeared.

Oliver needs a moment to figure out his heart. . . . He’d thought, all these years, that his dad was the good guy. He never knew that it was his father who had kidnapped him and kept him on the run. Discovering it, and finding himself returned to his old hometown, all at once, has his heart racing, and his thoughts swirling.

Readers who love Sarah Dessen will devour these pages with hearts in throats as Emmy and Oliver struggle to face the messy, confusing consequences of Oliver’s father’s crime. Full of romance, coming-of-age emotion, and heartache, these two equally compelling characters create an unforgettable story.

My favorite books are those that make me unable to move on to another book right away. Those that have characters I love so much that I feel like I just can’t let them go or even begin to connect with a whole new world.

I knew after just one chapter that Robin Benway’s EMMY & OLIVER would end up being one of my favorite books. It reminded me a lot of MTV’s FINDING CARTER, but with romance at the forefront.

Emmy is a total sweetheart, and even when she has to lie to her parents to keep them from worrying, everything she does seems justified. Oliver is beyond kind and caring, and would do anything for Emmy, despite not having seen her in ten years. I was rooting for them to get together from page one, and felt incredibly invested in their lives and their stories as well.

The pacing of the book is perfect, too. While primarily full of romance, the book also includes dramatic and sometimes heartbreaking moments that give a sense of suspense to an otherwise heartwarming novel.

As I read, I was pretty sure I knew what everything was building up to, but I was still surprised by a few subtle twists at the end. And speaking of the ending, it was also fantastic. All loose ends were tied up, but it still left an opening for more of Emmy and Oliver’s story. I don’t know if that’s something we’ll ever get, but I sure wouldn’t be disappointed if we did.

EMMY & OLIVER is perfect for fans of FINDING CARTER, or for anyone who loves a nice romance with plenty of stakes and realistic suspense involved. I highly recommend it. It’s a book I’ll never forget.

Rating: 5/5 Stars

DISCLAIMER: I received a digital ARC of EMMY & OLIVER from HarperTeen through Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s